Fantastique HQ

    No products in the order.


Willem De Ridder ‎– All Chemix Radio 2xLP


**edition of 300 copies** Willem the Ridder (1939) is a prolific storyteller, cassette freak and Fluxus artist. George Maciunas made him chairman of Fluxus for Northern Europe and in this role he organised several concerts and Fluxfestivals. He cooperated with Nam June Paik and presented his Piano for All Senses in Amsterdam in his gallery Amstel 47.

He was the co-founder of the Mood Engineering Society (MES) with Dick Raaymakers, Louis Andriessen, Peter Schat, Ton Bruynel, Rob Dubois, Jaap Spek & Misja Mengelberg. De Ridder also founded the European Mail Order House and Fluxshop and started the Society for Party Organizing (SPO) to introduce audience generated theatre. Together with Wim T. Schippers he founded the Association for Scientific Research in New Methods of Recreation (Afsrinmor International) and they organised and participated in Fluxus events in different European countries.

Together with William Levy, Jim Haynes, Germain Greer & Heathcote Williams he started to work on SUCK (The First European Sex Paper). The paper became a cult item from New York to Tokyo, which led to the very first Erotic Film Festival in the world: The Wet Dream Film Festival. After deciding that the era of the printing press was over he moved to Hollywood where he started Radio Cadillac and studied Chinese Medicine, Shiatsu, Zen Macrobiotics and Taoism. He introduced the Cassette Safari in which listeners in their car followed instructions and stories from a cassette transforming the surrounding landscapes.

De Ridder also produced the All Chemix Radio series transmitted by various radio stations in America, Canada and Australia. These narrative pieces originate on the spot and include spoken word, field recordings and electronic sounds. Also released as very limited cassettes these pieces are now released for the first time on vinyl. 8 radio plays are mixed into 4 long pieces including collaborators such as Cora Emens, Stefan Weisser, Andrew McKenzie, Nick Nicole, Annie Sprinkle, Alvin Curran, Julia Romanov, William Levy & Hessel Veldman.



Record Label

Release Date 2024-06-21
Catalog # Vol. 49
Stock Level In stock
SKU 210000046386